Menu Content/Inhalt
Home arrow News arrow Conferences arrow RSCTC 2010 - Call for Special Session Proposals
RSCTC 2010 - Call for Special Session Proposals PDF Print
Written by Marcin Szczuka   

Call for Special Session Proposals

The Seventh International Conference

on Rough Sets and Current Trends in Computing

Warsaw, Poland, June 28 - 30, 2010

Complete CfP in PDF format

Aim and Scope:

The aim of RSCTC 2010 is to provide researchers and practitioners interested in emerging information technologies a forum to share innovative theories, methodologies, and applications in rough sets and to explore synergies with such areas as computational intelligence, intelligent information systems, knowledge discovery from databases and data mining, non-conventional models of computation, synthesis and analysis of complex objects and web mining. The RSCTC 2010 dates mark the third anniversary of RSEISP 2007 - a conference dedicated to the memory of Zdzisław Pawlak. The organisers of RSCTC 2010 wish to connect with RSEISP by terms of topic coverage and spirit. The topics relevant to RSCTC 2010 include, but are not limited to:

  • Applications of rough sets
  • Approximate and uncertain reasoning
  • Bioinformatics
  • Bio-inspired and evolutionary computing
  • Case-based reasoning
  • Computational intelligence
  • Computing with words
  • Decision support systems
  • Formal concept analysis and concept lattices
  • Fuzzy set theory and applications
  • Generalization of rough sets: near sets and nearness approximation spaces
  • Granular computing
  • Hybrid methods in software engineering
  • Intelligent systems
  • Interactive computing
  • Knowledge discovery and data mining
  • Logical and mathematical foundations of rough sets
  • Logical aspects of soft computing: fuzzy, rough, type 2 fuzzy reasoning and beyond
  • Machine learning
  • Multi-agent systems
  • Multi-criteria decision support
  • Multimedia applications
  • Neural networks
  • Non-classical logic
  • Pattern recognition and image processing
  • Petri nets and concurrency
  • Process mining and intelligent planning
  • Rough-fuzzy hybrid methods
  • Rough mereology
  • Signal Processing
  • Soft computing
  • Spatial reasoning
  • Statistical inference
  • Web intelligence and Web mining
Submission of Special Session Proposals:

We invite researchers to organize a special session by soliciting a minimum of five (5) papers on a specific topic within the scope of the conference. A proposal for a special session should be submitted by e-mail to This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it by November 30, 2009.
Each proposal should include the following information:

  •  A title and a short description of the topic of the session.
  •  Names and full contact information of the special session organizers.
  • A tentative list of papers and prospective authors.
  • A list of proposed reviewers who are members of the RSCTC 2010 Programme Committee.
  • A list of up to five (5) other proposed reviewers and their full contact information.
  •  Any special organizational or technical needs that can be identified at this time.

The organizers of accepted special sessions will become ex officio members of the RSCTC 2010 Programme Committee. The RSCTC 2010 Committee Chairs may invite reviewers proposed by the special sessions’ organizers to contribute as Programme Committee members.

Paper Submission:

Papers submitted to a special session will undergo the normal submission process. The submission and review process for special sessions will be carried out by means of the same on-line submission system as for regular papers. Each special session paper should have no more than ten (10) pages in the Springer-Verlag LNCS style, including figures, tables and references. Springer-Verlag author instructions are available at:

Paper Review:

The papers submitted to a special session will be reviewed by the RSCTC 2010 Programme Committee members and the reviewers assigned by the organizers of the special session and approved by the RSCTC 2010 Committee Chairs.


All accepted special session papers will be published in the conference proceedings by Springer-Verlag in the Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) series, which is published, in parallel to the printed books, in full-text electronic form via

Important Dates:

Deadline for special session proposals: November 30, 2009
Paper submission site open: January 1, 2010
Paper submission due: February 28, 2010
Acceptance notices: March 21, 2010
Camera-ready papers due: April 4, 2010
Conference: June 28-30, 2010


For issues connected with special sessions please contact Sheela Ramanna, RSCTC PC Chair at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it .


General Chair: Marcin Szczuka (The University of Warsaw, Poland)
Program Committee Chairs:
    Marzena Kryszkiewicz (The Warsaw University of Technology, Poland)
    Sheela Ramanna (University of Winnipeg, Canada)
    Richard Jensen (The University of Wales, Aberystwyth, United Kingdom)
    Qinghua Hu (Harbin Institute of Technology, China)

Program Committee (to be extended):

Aijun An (Canada)
Mohua Banerjee (India)
Jan Bazan (Poland)
Theresa Beaubouef (USA)
Maciej Borkowski (USA)
Cory Butz (Canada)
Gianpiero Cattaneo (Italy)
Mihir K. Chakraborty (India)
Chien-Chung Chan (USA)
Davide Ciucci (Italy)
Chris Cornelis (Belgium)
Krzysztof Cyran (Poland)
Andrzej Czyżewski (Poland)
Jianhua Dai (China)
Martine DeCock (Belgium)
Ivo Duentsch (Canada)
Michelle Galea (UK)
Anna Gomolińska (Poland)
Salvatore Greco (Italy)
Jerzy Grzymała-Busse (USA)
Aboul Ella Hassanien (Egypt)
Jun He (UK)
Shoji Hirano (Japan)
Xiaohua Tony Hu (USA)
Masahiro Inuiguchi (Japan)
Ryszard Janicki (Canada)
Jouni Järvinen (Finland)
John A. Keane (UK)
Jacek Koronacki (Poland)
Bożena Kostek (Poland)
A. M. Kozae (Egypt)
Krzysztof Krawiec (Poland)
Yasuo Kudo (Japan)
Yuefeng Li (Australia)
Pawan Lingras (Canada)
Neil Mac Parthalain (UK)
Praditpa Maji (India)
Benedetto Matarazzo (Italy)
Lawrence Mazlack (USA)
Ernestina Menasalvas (Spain)
Duoqian Miao (China)
Pabitra Mitra (India)
Sushmita Mitra (India)
Sadaaki Miyamoto (Japan)
Mikhail Moshkov (Saudi Arabia)
Sinh Hoa Nguyen (Poland)
Hung Son Nguyen (Poland)
Hala Own (Egypt)
Sankar K. Pal (India)
Krzysztof Pancerz (Poland)
Puntip Pattaraintakorn (Thailand)
Witold Pedrycz (Canada)
James F. Peters (Canada)
Georg Peters (Germany)
Anna Radzikowska (Poland)
Zbigniew Raś (USA)
Henryk Rybiński (Poland)
Hiroshi Sakai (Japan)
Qiang Shen (UK)
Arul Siromoney (India)
Władysław Skarbek (Poland)
Andrzej Skowron (Poland)
Roman Słowiński (Poland)
Urszula Stańczyk (Poland)
Jerzy Stefanowski (Poland)
John Stell (UK)
Jarosław Stepaniuk (Poland)
Zbigniew Suraj (Poland)
Dominik Ślęzak (Poland)
Shusaku Tsumoto (Japan)
Julio Valdes (Canada)
Aida Vitória (Sweden)
Alicja Wakulicz-Deja (Poland)
Krzysztof Walczak (Poland)
Guoyin Wang (China)
Hui Wang (UK)
Piotr Wasilewski (Canada)
Richard Weber (Chile)
Szymon Wilk (Poland)
Marcin Wolski (Poland)
Wei-Zhi Wu (China)
JingTao Yao (Canada)
Yiyu Yao (Canada)
Ning Zhong (Japan)
William Feng Zhu (China)
Wojciech Ziarko (Canada)
Last Updated ( Sunday, 09 December 2012 )
< Prev   Next >
designed by made your